Skip to content

Wool felt and Christmas trees

December 18, 2009

Surprisingly, in the hot summer weather we’ve had in Canberra my felted scarves and wraps have attracted a lot of interest at the local markets.  People are thinking ahead to winter, I guess.  As a long time feltmaker it’s really great to see a broader acceptance of felting now – a very different situation to when I started making felt.  Most people buying my felt are familiar with the felting process, or know other feltmakers. This growing enthusiasm towards felting might be due in a large part to our very active Canberra Region Feltmakers group, set up in the mid-nineties.

My stall at the Old Bus Depot Markets

Starting to have a stall at the markets at this time of year featuring wool felt has been quite challenging.  Before the interest shown in my wearable felt, my ideas for new things to make for local Canberra weekend markets steered right away from wearable scarves and wraps.  My current summer stock includes more practical things such as hand-woven home furnishings and tableware, as well as delicate felt lattice bells for hanging on Christmas trees.  My wearable wraps and scarves are displayed at the markets more as a backdrop to my newer woven and felted homewares.

I’ve also been developing an idea to make felt Christmas trees, based on ones I exhibited many years ago for one of the Crafts for Christmas exhibitions organised by Craft ACT.  The current tree is a scaled down version more suited for display on table tops.  With an oiled timber base and post, the Christmas tree all comes apart and stores flat for storage in a box.  Finalising the design details is proving to be rather slow, hopefully I’ll have some ready for the Old Bus Depot Markets this weekend.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 7:43 PM

    Hi Anne, Looking forward to seeing how your new studio is progressing. I am amazed at how tidy your weaving room is!!!

    • Anne permalink*
      March 10, 2010 8:11 PM

      Ha ha, it’s not so tidy any more, although I’ve moved all my art books to the living room, to make more cupboard space for yarns and equipment.

      I’ve been blending dyed merino on my Strauch drum carder, so all surfaces and horizontal loom parts are draped in glorious coloured batts at the moment.

I'm interested to know what you think ...