Skip to content

Nuno felt wrap

April 3, 2010

Kimberley, nuno felt wrap

I recently made a nuno felt wrap, the first one I’ve made for a while.

It’s simply two layers of white superfine merino carded with a small amount of a blend of black merino and flax with natural silk fibres.  Separating the two layers of wool fibre is fine white tissue silk fabric that shows very subtly in the areas between the triangles of fleece.  There’s loose silk fabric band along one edge and a fringe at one end.

Being superfine wool it feels so soft, and weighing only 80 grams (nearly 3 ounces) it’s very light and drapable.  You can wear it in different ways to feature either the fringed end or the silk band.

My inspiration came from browsing aerial images of the Australian landscape on the internet.  I found a great online album of the photographer Yann Arthus-Bertrand who seems to spend his time seeing the landscape from above. This is his website http://www.yannarthusbertrand2.org.  In this nuno felt wrap I was trying to capture the ripples in the sand of Arthus-Bertrand’s image of the Buccaneer Archipelago in the Kimberley area of coastal north-west Australia.

Although not very successfully, I was trying to create ripples in the silk fabric by laying the wool fleece vertically and rolling across the width of the wrap.  In theory it should work, but maybe it needs more rolling to get those ripples happening.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 10:07 AM

    Lovely and just want to reach out and touch it! I love the fringe as well.

    • Anne permalink*
      April 8, 2010 11:25 AM

      Thanks Nancy, a fringe can be an important element in the design of a scarf I think.
      Love the colour effects in you Lavender Mist bag. We have Pollock’s Blue Poles in Canberra, but the colours aren’t as atmospheric!

  2. April 3, 2010 5:19 PM

    Its gorgous. Well done. i like the fringes.

    • Anne permalink*
      April 3, 2010 6:47 PM

      Thanks FELT4U. I like your rags to riches nuno wraps too. I can see you both have a lot of fun with felting too!
      I was very reserved in my colours for this piece. I may over-dye it of course …

  3. Sue Berger permalink
    April 3, 2010 3:05 PM

    Anne! it’s lovely! what are its dimensions, and how much would you consider selling it for?

    • Anne permalink*
      April 3, 2010 3:39 PM

      Thanks very much Sue. The wrap measures 180 cm long (including fringe) and 45 cm wide. I’ll let you know the selling price.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Nuno felt wrap « Fibre reflections -- Topsy.com

I'm interested to know what you think ...